National Coconut Producers Elects New Exco

Commodities and Produce Inspectorate Department (CPI) of Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment has inaugurated the newly elected executives of National Association of Coconut Producers, Processors and Marketers Association of Nigeria (NACOPPMAN), a commodity association under the umbrella body of Federation of Agricultural Commodities Association of Nigeria (FACAN) recently in Abuja.

The Deputy Director Commodities, Mr. Irimiya Kaura who administered the oath of office to the newly elected executives charged them to work assiduously and with serious commitment to hasten up their registration with Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC). He also reiterated the commitment of the Ministry to see to their registration and full incorporation into Commodity Associations, emphasizing that due process should be adhered to.

Kaura further disclosed that the Ministry has so far registered and launched about nineteen (19) vibrant Commodity associations and many more are being groomed and will soon be registered and launched.

Cocos  Nucifera commonly called Coconut in English, is an organic tree of nature, most versatile health food on planet earth and top super food has the potential of improving the economy of Nigeria via employment generation, wealth creation and export; and to help drive the diversification agenda of Federal Government. Coconut has potentials of generating over N10Billion annually for farmers and agribusiness entrepreneurs. Currently production output in Nigeria is 267,520 metric tons which is used in the production of less than 1,500 metric tons of coconut oil.

The electoral Committee was chaired by Mr. Labaran Wamba who worked with his members to conduct a free, fair and transparent election with all the positions keenly contested for and winners emerged with Federal Character fully adhered to. On behalf of FACAN executive, Mr. Labaran urged the newly constituted team to work as a family to forge a strong partnership with the Ministry for quicker results.

The newly elected President of the Association Mrs. Okoroji Nma Okechukwu in her acceptance speech commended the Ministry for their supervisory roles and support given to the Association so far and promised to work assiduously with her team to take the Association to the next level which has to do with registration and incorporation as a full-fledged association.

She urged her team to synergize and work out a positive impact, saying “We must win together, if we invest, we must surely reap our harvest, our strength is in our diversity and our togetherness” said President.

Mrs. Okoroji further highlighted her four year work plan to include; capacity development and awareness campaign that encompasses strong senzitation, public awareness and promotion on the importance and investment opportunities in coconut industry as a national commodity with numerous potentials of economic growth.

Establishment of improved variety/ hybrid seedlings banks with 3years fruiting period in  the six geopolitical zones to ensure availability and easy access to high variety seedlings  to achieve the vision of one family 3 coconut tree, planting of trees at schools, roads, Government and Private office environment, hospitals etc. establishment of 5,000 hectares coconut plantations in 22 states ensure availability of coconut raw materials for investors and processors, reduce importation of coconut and control monopoly. Other crops and vegetables can also be grown for instance, pumpkin, melon, beans, potatoes etc. to keep the farmer’s income blooming till the 3 years waiting period for the bomber harvest.

Establishment of processing hub / incubation centers in the six geopolitical zones in Nigeria and to encourage processing of coconut, quality and standards control measures, provide the solution to group registration and certification of the products, reduction in the price of the products, exports opportunities and linkage to global market to increase value on returns on investment, increase to GDP of Nigeria, wealth creation and employment generation.

Other members of the executives include: Alhaji Ahmed Ibrahim, National Deputy President, Deputy President for each of the six geo-political zones include: Engr. Nurudeen Hassan, North West, Mrs. Alamin Umara, North East, Mr. David Esan, South South, Mr. Ani Jeff, South East, Mr. Abu Abel, North Central and Alhaji Mohammed Mustapha for the South West.

Ademu Josephine, PIO

For: Head, PPRU, FMITI